The empty swing 



I look down at her

Singing “the empty swing”

Rocking my empty cradle 

Dabbing her tears with my onsy

As she folds them all away


I look down at her

Sitting beside an empty swing

Trying to write about me

Countless words they would overwhelm

 She never writes past my name 


I look down at her

Looming over an empty swing 

Staring deep at my only photograph

A tiny mass of flesh then

She will never make out my face


I look down at her 

Looking up from an empty swing 

Asking if I am okay 

But we are worlds apart 

I cannot answer 


I look down at her

Pushing on an empty swing

With longing in her eyes

They tell she misses me

I miss her too



Leave a Reply

